Alumni Spotlight: Karina Muñoz Matus, Chile

Alumni Spotlight

Karina Muñoz Matus to lead Chile’s National Traffic Safety Commission

2019 Delft Alumnus Karina Muñoz Matus has been invited to be part of the Government of President Gabriel Boric in Chile to lead the National Traffic Safety Commission (CONASET).

Prior to her appointment to CONASET, Karina was an external consultant for the Transportation Division in the Interamerican Development Bank (IADB) in Chile. She has directed studies and projects on safe and sustainable mobility both in the public and private spheres, working in organizations such as the Undersecretary of Transportation of Chile and Metro De Santiago.

She is the founder and, until recently, director of Fundación Conciencia Vial, a non-profit organization that promotes safe and sustainable mobility and is a member of the Global Alliance of NGOs for Road Safety.

Karina is an Industrial Engineer by training and her developed her expertise through a course on road safety at the University of Lund in Sweden, as well as taking part in the 2019 Delft Road Safety Course and acting as a tutor on our 2021 Course.

Karina is an active member of our alumni network, and we are so proud of her achievements. We wish her all the best in her new role.

More alumni news

Alumni Spotlight: Susan Mawele, Zambia

Susan shares her journey with DRSC and the Zambian Road Safety Trust to enhance road safety and sustainable transport in Zambia.

Alumni Spotlight: Nathaly Torregroza, Colombia

Nathaly Torregroza leads Bogotá strategy for Vision Zero.

Alumni Spotlight: Carlos Guemez, Costa Rica

Carlos Guemez shares his road safety journey as a DRSC Alumnus.

Alumni Spotlight: Vanessa Rubio, El Salvador

Vanessa Rubio supports global NGO meeting which “marked significant turning point” for road safety in El Salvador.

Alumni Spotlight: Dr. H.R.Pasindu, Sri Lanka

Dr. H.R.Pasindu leads important road safety developments in Sri Lanka.

Alumni Spotlight: Chinara Kasmambetova, Kyrgyzstan

Chinara Kasmambetova named one of ‘Best People of 2022’ for road safety interventions​.